Tags

, , , , , , , ,

There are many things in which I am. I am curious. I am strong. I am creative. I am a child at heart. I am a thinker – sometimes an over-thinker. And I like to listen(you learn more that way).

This summer has consisted of many journeys through this wonderful land of New Zealand. And, slowly, I am falling in love with this place all over again. Discovering the out-of-city secrets of this land has been a truly eye opening experience. I am inspired more than ever to listen to my heart, follow my dreams and to do what makes me happy.

There is no longer a compulsion inside me to flee from this country. However, after much consideration over the last few months and a large amount of time spent contemplating what exactly I want from life and the living, the conclusion has been realised, that I still no longer wish to live in this  particular city. Or any city, for that matter.

You see, I’ve made a discovery. A small beach town on the west coast here, with its population being little more than three thousand occupants, and a fairly long drive away from any other place, completely immersed in its own radiating charisma, magic and beautiful surroundings. Sunshine. Beach. Bush. REAL human beings in touch with life and living. You can see the stars at night. Small, quirky things pop up, like yoga classes on wake-boards in the water. Like creative markets bursting at the seams with local art and delicious food. Like hang-gliding day events. Like impromptu acoustic blues music evenings. The windmill farm you can spot on your way in to the town. The waterfall hidden just off the main road. A small retreat perched at the top of a hill that has yoga classes and workshops for holistic well-being. A flooding sense of freedom in every step walked through this wonderful place.
image

People can, and sadly often do, spend a lifetime avoiding any opportunity to identify who they really are or refusing to acknowledge what they truly want, instead expending their energy on conforming to society’s constraints, and obtaining what they are expected to want, never to confess their secrets or dreams or desires. Me? I don’t hide my wants, my flaws, or who I am from myself, or anyone else for that matter. I am forming a new habit of enjoying doing things that scare me, even if it means to shamefully expose my true self, or potentially result in others seeing me as undesirable company.  It is both awkwardly thrilling, and terrifyingly liberating.

Along this journey, I have found myself and what I want. I don’t need to be famous, I don’t need a PhD, and I don’t need a butt load of money. I don’t want to try and figure out how to be just another lemming. Give me a beautiful corner of the world, tools to create my art, and the means to practice and share my yoga, and I am happy. That is what I want in life. We needn’t complicate things, and I do not intend to complicate my journey any further.

I have fallen in love with living. I am discovering Me, and I like it. I have found my heart. I have found a place that is truly home. A place that welcomes the many things in which I am.

Show me your secrets…

image

