Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pain management is something that encompasses many things to me. Recently, changes have been implemented in many different aspects of my daily living, including exercise, positive thought training, and new food items being incorporated in to my diet.

Finding things that both work positively with my body and are also delicious has been a challenge, but this simple homemade concoction is the perfect balance – and the perfect refreshing summer tonic.

Some foods contain compounds that aid the body with inflammation and pain. There is also some evidence which suggests certain foods are especially good in aiding a number of chronic pain sufferers. To clarify, I am not saying this may be a suitable option for everyone. For me however, amongst other things, some of what goes into my body has the power to determine whether I may stay balanced and functional, or end up bed-ridden for days.

Peppermint tea is one of those things that benefits me, and can potentially aid other chronic pain sufferers. It’s refreshing, delicious and healthy. Along with other coping mechanisms developed over countless runs of trial and error, this drink has become a staple for me. I drink at least a glass every day. This tonic holds so much value to me and my daily togetherness, that I have chosen to share it in hopes that it may help someone else who is also looking for non-medicated alternatives for their own pain management.

For those of you without pain barriers or able to drink alcohol, this also mixes into a delicious cocktail with gin and/or vanilla liqueur.

peppermint tea

Recipe:

1 litre filtered water

2 peppermint teabags

1 tbsp raw honey

a few slices of lemon

Ice

Method:

Add teabags to water.

Leave to steep on bench for four hours. Alternatively you can leave it overnight if you wish.

Take out tea bags. Dissolve honey in a small amount of hot water (about 1/4 cup should be enough).

Add dissolved honey to peppermint tea along with a few slices of lemon and add ice cubes to cool.

Optional: Garnish with a couple of sprigs of fresh mint if desired.

peppermint banner

Happy summer.

